Nostalgia Diaries : Infosys

I am 1 month shy of completing 2 years of resigning from Infosys and there’s a lurch in my heart like no other! Not a single day goes by without me reminiscing about those wonderful days.

Re-posting an excerpt from my ex-blog about completing 3 years at Infosys….I would do anything I could to go back there…and live out my life feeling content!

3 years at Infosys

I was travelling in the Volvo bus today, chanced upon another conversation between 2 girls, freshers, from a IT company.

I am starting to feel snoopy. Bad, bad Vaishnavi

Girl 1 : today…you know what Rahul said?
Girl 2 : huh?
Girl 1 (repeats, haltingly) : today…you know what Rahul said?
Girl 2 (again) : huh?
Girl 1 : forget it!
Girl 2 : shape tegi beda, hele sumne*…and the conversation about Rahuls continued.

*Translation : don’t embarass me, just say it (in Kannada)

This easy camarederie between friends who have just turned colleagues brought back some memories of my own – when I joined Infosys with 4 classmates from my PG Institute.This is in part a nostalgic post, please bear with me (grins)

I completed 3 years of Infosys yesterday. I have conversations galore but none as candid as what I have with my school or college buddies. That’s probably the diference…”buddies”; whereas colleagues remain just that – colleagues. Very rarely do they progress to being friends or buddies. And why is that?? I asked myself…

When you travel in a bus you not only have your own bag on you lap, but also ask someone who’s standing to handover their’s. A person, with absolutely no common friends/interests becomes your friend, only because they take the same bus back home, public transport notwithstanding. In a company bus, you turn away, look intently into the phone, listen to music or stare outside the window rather than strike a conversation or ask someone to handover their bag. It is amazing how one can turn away from obviously pregnant women, really tired looking people instead of doing the right thing…err the ethical thing.

A friend/classmate thumps you on the back, mocks you at mistakes, give you stupid, wierd nicknames (believe me, I know this one well). Work life offers you policies on grounds for an ASHI case (Info-scions know what I am talking about) over a simple cup of coffee. It’s a different issue if coffee isn’t the only thing discussed.

I wonder what changes us…from the happy-go-lucky people to a grim, bordering on selfish, cribbers…in plural. Why are we interested in someone’s else promotion/hike? Were we all fired up when our friend received the Best Student Award? Or was chosen for class prefect? Why did we lament when a peer was offered a promotion? A “congrats” will make his day, raise your dignity and amaze you with your own reticence.

I think it is how we view it – our perception; rather than what happens to us. How we choose to handle it rather than a knee jerk reaction to the situation at hand. I once read this in a book “there are always other seas to fish” and I believe that is right. If not this one, there are always other places/areas to succeed. If this is not your forte, you’ll know it after the 3rd, 18th or the 1008th mis-step 🙂

My ex-boss always told me – let me understand – and would recap the situation in his own words. When I hear his version of things I always felt better at the situation.

On the brink of my 4th year, I pray for poise in difficult situations, dignity in the work I do, reticence in my actions and direction towards a beautiful path. Thank you Infosys for the foundation, I hope to go miles from where I stand, but you’ll always be my stepping stone.

Leave a Reply

